One more day

Hello World!

 

This is yet another first-time storyteller coming to the world! Where to begin. My travels begin tomorrow… finally. But first… a little background. My name is Tristan, I am a nursing student earning my bachelor’s degree one step at a time in a small liberal arts college in upstate New York. Where the science and theory of nursing is the base for my studies, my true love and inspiration comes from the field of sustainability. In particular, and especially as a nurse, I am an advocate for social sustainability or lasting change among the structure and function of our society. This work has taken me into the community food pantries, soup kitchens, free primary care clinics and many other social service organizations within my area. Through the length of my career I have my sight set on creating a connection between various communities across the globe with each other through the explanation of how these groups are not that different. So now we have international connections related directly to social/cultural sustainability as it applies within the Nurisng perspective… but it gets better. I have begun work on a social network model that would be able to function within any situation. Although developed here in the states I will be working some of the aspects of the design with the people of Merida, Mexico beginning within the next couple days. So there we go –  my true professional aspirations and work. But why do I really want to do these things?

Im sure a lot of people can relate with that statement. Why? What motivates us to get up everyday and keep pushing on? Well… for me – I dont see it as “pushing on” and I strive to better not only myself through my actions, but also the lives of those around me. My love centers in the people of the earth, and as “grassy/crunchy” as it sounds – its true. I am constantly fascinated by the cultural, social, environmental, and economic aspects of the world most especially as they apply to the human race. The idea, in the end, is that all of these “corners of sustainability” lead back to humanity. Hence, my work takes precedence in recognizing the needs and wants of the general social environment to better create a location of progressive change from the ground up.

So my adventures start tomorrow, and with all of my schpeil I will continue to explore the places and people of the world that I encounter. This is just one inexperienced voice, but I hope to paint an accurate picture of all of these places and more. For now – Stayed tuned and keep smiling!

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.” 
― Dr. Seuss

 

Tags: , ,

About bassist5656

Hi, I am just beginning a world adventure of my very own! My name is Tristan Davis Fralick and I am a nursing and social justice student from the central New York region. I really enjoy working with people and I have made it my goal to see as much of the world's cultures as possible to best understand and relate to the people that live all around us. In my free-time I enjoy hiking, biking, swimming, playing music, cooking, writing (obviously), and learning new things in any way that I can. This is a blog consisting of my travels past and present. I hope that you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

