A midday walk

A midday walk

This is a picture out of the hacienda Yaxcopoil, which is one of the higher functioning haciendas in the Yucatan. The property is actually owned by the second family who purchased the property from the original owners. I found the grounds, gardens, and fields to be beautiful, however they do have a cruel history. Haciendas were much like the plantations of the American South and although they did not openly cite slavery as their choice for labor, the system was clearly used. The owners paid the workers just enough that they could barely afford the necessities within the store that was owned by the hacienda itself. In fact, the owners did not even live in the hacienda. Typically they lived in Merida and owned several haciendas around the Yucatan which they would visit to host parties or check on their workers from time to time. When sisal fell out of favor as a rope material, the economy collapsed and many of the haciendas were allowed to fall into disrepair. A lot have been allowed to become their own type of ruin, where some others have been kept minimally by their owners, while still others have been developed into boutique hotels for tourism. Either way, the stunning beauty and history of this location is incredible, and I could spend hours traveling through the grounds.

About bassist5656

Hi, I am just beginning a world adventure of my very own! My name is Tristan Davis Fralick and I am a nursing and social justice student from the central New York region. I really enjoy working with people and I have made it my goal to see as much of the world's cultures as possible to best understand and relate to the people that live all around us. In my free-time I enjoy hiking, biking, swimming, playing music, cooking, writing (obviously), and learning new things in any way that I can. This is a blog consisting of my travels past and present. I hope that you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

