From the top

From the top

Here I am, from the top of the great temple in Uxmal. In the background you can see the pyramid of the sorcerer (completely uncovered) and the king’s palace to the right of the photo. The city was named by arceaologists Uxmal as it translates to “three times built” in mayan (Ux = three and mal = built). This name comes from the three layers of the great pyramid of the sorcerer. Actually a new layer was built onto the pyramid every 52 years in accordance to the alignment of the stellar (365 days) and religious (about 252 days) calendars. This occurrence was usually celebrated with the well known ballgame and sacrifices to ensure the prosperity of the city. The city is actually really sizable with a lot covered by jungle – more pictures as they come.

About bassist5656

Hi, I am just beginning a world adventure of my very own! My name is Tristan Davis Fralick and I am a nursing and social justice student from the central New York region. I really enjoy working with people and I have made it my goal to see as much of the world's cultures as possible to best understand and relate to the people that live all around us. In my free-time I enjoy hiking, biking, swimming, playing music, cooking, writing (obviously), and learning new things in any way that I can. This is a blog consisting of my travels past and present. I hope that you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

