The great Sakbe

The great Sakbe

This is the sakbe running from the great temple/ inglesia region of Dzibilchaltun to the temple of the seven dolls about .5 km away. All of the sakes of the Yucatan show a flat, nearly straight design that allows for quick and easy travel between point A and point B. Another great example of this design is seen in my pictures of the market along the paths of Chichen Itza. There is a great sakbe located there that runs from the great pyramid to the grand cenote on the far end of the city. I found these to be marvels of design as well, seeing as the roads are nearly flat and without major faults. How were they carved through the dense jungle of the Yucatan with the tools at hand? Who will ever know?

About bassist5656

Hi, I am just beginning a world adventure of my very own! My name is Tristan Davis Fralick and I am a nursing and social justice student from the central New York region. I really enjoy working with people and I have made it my goal to see as much of the world's cultures as possible to best understand and relate to the people that live all around us. In my free-time I enjoy hiking, biking, swimming, playing music, cooking, writing (obviously), and learning new things in any way that I can. This is a blog consisting of my travels past and present. I hope that you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

